The Hepatitis B polymerase: A difficult problem begins to crack

Hi all,

I’d like to share some ongoing work in my lab that is greatly improving our understanding of HBV replication and accelerating the drug discovery efforts in my lab.

The HBV polymerase protein (abbreviated as “P”) is the only enzyme (ie, protein that makes chemical reactions occur) that HBV produces. It has 2 functions essential for HBV to copy itself, the reverse transcriptase (RT) that makes new viral DNA and the ribonuclease H (RH) that destroys the viral RNA after it has been copied into the first of 2 strands of the HBV DNA. Both are functions are essential for viral replication. The RT is the target of the nucleoside analog drugs like tenofovir and entecavir, but there are no drugs against the RH. Overall, our understanding of P’s function is extremely limited because the protein is incredibly difficult to work with.

I’ve been working with P since 1992 and have been making slow but steady progress. Over that entire time, I’ve wanted to know its 3 dimensional structure because a protein’s structure dictates its function. About 2 years ago Google figured out how to use artificial intelligence to accurately predict structures of most proteins, so we used their program (AlphaFold2) to predict the structure. We then worked really hard to validate that the prediction was right–and it is!. A free version of the paper reporting the structure is on bioRxiv at https://www.biorxiv.org/content/10.1101/2022.02.16.480762v1.