Partner told me her chronic HBV after having unprotected sex

I have been in a dilemma for the last week or so as my partner told me she has chronic HBV after we have unprotected sex. When we had sex, she proposed to have it unprotected although I hesitated once.

When she told me about her HBV status days after the unprotected sex, I was literally sweating. I have some basic knowledge of HBV, so I knew I should be fine if antibodies were presented but I just didn’t know my antibody status.

As it was during Christmas/New Year’s holiday, I couldn’t find any GP available for a blood test in Sydney. I waited with anxiety until when I got tested the day before yesterday and the test result shows that I have no surface Ag and have a high level of surface Ab (>1000 IU/L).

I am relieved but only to some extent, because I cannot stop thinking why my partner did not disclose her status before she proposing unprotected sex.

She told me she contracted the HBV from her mother during birth. She received vaccine during the birth but the vaccine did not work on her.

I really have mixed feelings about this situation where I am in.
I love her and I’m worried about her. I wish I could take care of her.
On the other hand, the way she handles the whole thing hurts me a lot and made me question about her morality.

She said the reason she did not disclose it before unprotected sex is that she was confident that I should have been vaccinated during birth. The last time I checked for HBV antibodies was back in 2008, so even myself cannot tell what my current status is without a blood test.

To make things more disappointing, she works as an epidemic prevention worker, so I guess she has much better knowledge than I do about HBV.

The whole thing just makes me so sad and frustrated.