High viral load and being intimate with some one who is vaccinated against hepb

Hi,

Not so sure if this has been answered already, but the question is, if your viral load is high can you be intimate with some one who is vaccinated against hepb ?

Or should you first get your viral load down with medicine first and then get intimate ?

How long does it take to get viral load down with medicine ?

Br,

Hi @hepb1

I’m not an expert but have lived experience, 40 years +
My understanding is it doesn’t matter if your levels are high. As long as the person is fully vaccinated against HBV.
They may need to have a blood test to check that the vaccine is still effective. There have been some cases where the vaccine has failed.
Are you receiving treatment from a doctor? Are you being monitored your liver? Can I ask why you’re levels are high?
Might be none of my business you don’t have to answer. But I am concerned that your levels high.

1 Like

Hi @hepb1,
Caraline is right. Just to emphasize the partner must be fully vaccinated to be protected. If not, transmission is more likely to occur. Each person is different. Some people can see their viral load drop in little as few months, others could take close to a year or more. Our bodies process medicines differently. Best, Bansah1.

1 Like

What test can the vaccinated person perform to know if the vaccine is still active???
Thanks

hello.

The anti-hbs test detects antibodies against virus b. through it, checking the other results, the effectiveness of the vaccine can be verified. I say this because you can develop antibodies without being vaccinated. That’s why it’s important to have a complete overview to know if you have the antibodies from the vaccine or from exposure and “functional cure”.

I hope it helps to clarify.

Do all hepatitis b patients get cancer??? And no what can one do to avoid liver cancer???. Am worried of the feature than my current infection