Hep B's role in regressing career and mental health

Hello. I’m a Canadian university student who’s lived with chronic Hep B all my life. As I transition into employment, I feel constantly limited in temporarily traveling or moving internationally for computer science jobs. It greatly stresses me the amount of unknown in how other countries work with health care and Hep B.

The uncertainty of when a fibroscan shows I need immediate treatment puts me into a lot of despair. I’m at a loss knowing I’d be committed to over 10 years of medication and be locked into financial issues, health care concerns, stigma and other unknowns.

I understand my feelings may be more catastrophic as I deal with mental health related issues too. This is the first time I’ve connected with others that is not my doctor and as eager as I am to learn to manage and live with Hep B, I can eager in supporting others who struggle as well.

1 Like

Hi CLC,

Welcome to the forum, thanks for sharing your story with us all. As a travelling academic myself, I exactly get where you’re coming from: it just adds so much extra mental load to what is already a stressful situation of unstable work and having to relocate your entire life.

I hope this community can support you through this difficult time. While you may have to walk your own journey with your own two feet, please know that you are accompanied by the millions that are affected by hep B who understand many of the issues you are facing and are trying to navigate the same hurdles that are in front of you.

Yours sincerely,
Thomas

1 Like

Hi CLC,

I’m a senior HBV virologist. I don’t know first-hand the stresses you are under, but you’ve come to the right place to seek guidance.