Help me please with tenofovir in us

hi all :wave:t2:

I want to visit the USA, but I’m from Ukraine, I have hep b, and I’ve been using tenofovir for a couple of years, what problems might there be with buying it and how much does it cost? sorry for translation, and thank you guys

Sorry about that. It costs a lot if you don’t have an insurance especially if the Brand is Vemlidy. However, if you want a cheaper one, try entecavir. But everything is depends on the type of prescription you have.

Hi @big_po
The price is depend on pharmacy and what type of insurance that you have. It may cost you from $675 to $3,000 for 90 days supply without insurance. But you can use GoodRx coupon at Walmart pharmacy for only $46.64 for 90 days supply and this price will be up and down from time to time. I’m on Tenofovir too and my insurance covers the cost for the first 3 quarters and I have to 25% of the price which is $175 on the last quarter, so I called the pharmacy and told them that I like to use GoodRx coupon and then after that I switched back to my insurance on the beginning of the year.
GoodRx app is free to anyone. You should call the pharmacy to make sure they are accepting the coupon before you ask your doctor send prescription to them. CVS and Target pharmacy also accept GoodRx coupon and the price is $35.91.
I hope it help.

thank you @Dauphin50
but for the first time (while I’m flying) they will provide me with insurance, will I be able to buy tenafovir without a doctor’s prescription?

I just found out and I won’t have any insurance, how many times can I use the coupon? and can I do this without a doctor’s prescription? I don’t need tenofovir, an analogue is also possible, the main thing is TDF 300 mg

thank you @Larry I just found out and I won’t have any insurance, how many times can I use the coupon? and can I do this without a doctor’s prescription? I don’t need tenofovir, an analogue is also possible, the main thing is TDF 300 mg