EXAMPLE ENTRY: Integrated HBV DNA: a hidden contributor to liver cancer and virus persistence?

Hi everyone! My name is Gabriela and I’m an honours student under Thomas Tu. This year I’ve been doing some work on Integrated DNA to better understand its behaviour and help guide future treatment.

Integrated DNA is a by-product of the virus’s replication cycle. When the virus is replicating, its viral DNA gets transformed into the well-known cccDNA*. This cccDNA serves as a blueprint for the production of all viral proteins and future virus DNA. Intriguingly, a small portion of this future viral DNA is referred to as dslDNA*. In rare instances, it can jump into our cell’s DNA if it is damaged or undergoing replication/repair. The good thing is research has revealed that this integrated DNA has lost parts of itself, rendering it incapable of producing new viruses.

However, what continues to intrigue scientists is the reported link to cancer and the virus’s ability to persist in the body. One study revealed that 85-90% of tumour samples associated with HBV had integrations. On the other hand, research from our lab has shown that integrations usually happen early on during infection, while liver cancer typically occurs decades later. Thus, the apparent link between integrations and cancer can be compared to the chicken-or-egg paradox. Some scientists suggest that integrations may “seem” more frequent in cancer cells, because these cells were already more susceptible to DNA damage, which could lead to integrations.